back to
Umland Records
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Dorf/ Phill Niblock

by The Dorf

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €11 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    beautiful double CD digifile

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Dorf/ Phill Niblock via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    edition of 100 

      €20 EUR or more 


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 10 The Dorf releases available on Bandcamp and save 15%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Protest Possible, The Dorf/ Phill Niblock, Die Vollkommene Larve, LUX, Made In Österreich, evyL, eviL, Live (feat. FM Einheit), and 2 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      €68.85 EUR or more (15% OFF)


Baobab 46:18
Rich 16:30
F-Lan 12:26
Split 09:12


On one night in 2019, The Dorf (German for "village") took a heavy dose of the music of Phill Niblock. The impact on the musicians, gathering to play a double-length version of Niblock’s “Baobab” and (in a second set) three “Dorf” tunes, was deep. 

The first set felt like going to church – a truly spiritual experience. At first the audience did not believe the announcement that the “drone” piece would last for 46 minutes. Afterwards, their reactions showed the impression Phill’s music had made on them. 

After a 20-minute break, three pieces followed – a different game altogether, but connected to Baobab in the way that the energy and the feel for the evening had been thoroughly set by Mr. Niblock.


released May 20, 2019

marie daniels – vocals
hanna schörken – vocals
maika küster – vocals
oona kastner – vocals/ keys
julia brüssel - violine
martin verborg - violine
ludger schmidt - cello
emily witbrodt - cello
david heiss - trompete
moritz anthes - posaune
max wehner - posaune
adrian prost – posaune
alex morsey - tuba
sebastian gerhartz- saxofon
felix fritsche- saxofon
florian walter- ewi/ saxofon
stefanie heine- saxofon
luise volkmann- saxofon
sebastian gerhartz- saxofon
andreas wahl - gitarre
christian hammer - gitarre
raissa mehner - gitarre
serge corteyn - gitarre
oliver siegel - synth
guido schlösser - keys
fabian neubauer - keys
anja kreysing - keys
gilda razani - theremin
achim zepezauer – electronic
kai niggemann - electronic
johannes nebel- bass
volker kamp - bass
simon camatta - drums
marvin blamberg- drums
jan klare – saxofone airmovement
denis cosmar – sound

Baobab by Phill Niblock, Rich/ F-Lan/ Split by Jan Klare
Coverdesign by Achim Zepezauer
recorded on september 19/2019 at domicil, dortmund by denis cosmar
mixed/ mastered by denis cosmar

Umland 31

there is only one way - put the record on and stay in the room.
it will get to you one way or another.


all rights reserved



The Dorf Dortmund, Germany

contact / help

Contact The Dorf

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Dorf, you may also like: